Football Home Interactive Home
1950 National Championship Team

Led by legendary coach Paul “Bear” Bryant, Kentucky is the 1950 national champion according to the Sagarin Computer Ratings.

KENTUCKY IS THE 1950 NATIONAL CHAMPION, according to Jeff Sagarin, who handles computer rankings for USA Today. Sagarin, who has generated computer ratings since the 1970s, has reconstructed earlier seasons and his computer rates the Wildcats as tops for the 1950 campaign.

At the time, the national champs were crowned after the regular season but before the bowl games. UK finished the regular season with a 10-1 record and No. 7 ranking before knocking off No. 1 Oklahoma, 13-7, in the Sugar Bowl.

Four teams can lay claim to the 1950 title, according to the official NCAA record book. Six selectors went with Oklahoma (final record 10-1), six picked Tennessee (11-1), two chose Princeton (9-0) and one – the Sagarin ratings – named Kentucky (11-1).

Kentucky finished 5-1 in the Southeastern Conference in 1950 and won the school’s first league championship in football.

Paul 'Bear' BryantPaul “Bear” Bryant, one of the greatest coaches in college football history, spent eight years at UK (1946-53) and compiled a 60-23-5 (.710) record.